First Drafts of the new Redistricting Maps are out today

CRC First Draft Congress

These are the initial maps for the first draft of Congressional lines.  Individual maps for each district will be produced in the coming day.

North State

The North State has includes one Republican district that includes the Central Valley and Sierra Nevada Mountains.  A North Coast Democratic district extends from Oregon down to the Golden Gate Bridge, and another Democratic district encompasses Napa/Sonoma and rural Sacramento Valley Counties.


The Sacramento area includes one Democratic district that includes Sacramento and Elk Grove, a competitive suburban Sacramento County district, a GOP district that includes suburbs in Placer and El Dorado Counties and extends south along the Sierra Nevada Foothills and a suburban district that extends follows the I-80 corridor from Sacramento to San Francisco, encompassing Solano County.

North San Francisco Bay

The North Bay includes a district that extends from the Golden Gate Bridge to the Oregon Border, a Napa/Sonoma County district that extends into the Sacramento Valley and an I-80 district that extends from the East Bay, to Sacramento along the 1-80 corridor.

East San Francisco Bay

The East Bay includes an African American district that extends from Richmond to Oakland.  A Contra Costa based district and an Alameda County based district.  A portion of eastern Contra Costa County has also been included in a district with San Joaquin County.

South San Francisco Bay

Most of San Francisco is included in one district, another district includes most of San Mateo County.  Silicon Valley is contained in one district that extends into the Santa Cruz Mountains, while eastern San Jose is included in a district with eastern San Jose.  West San Jose is placed in a district with southern Santa Clara County.

Central Coast

The Central Coast includes one district that runs from Santa Cruz to include San Benito and Monterey Counties.  Another district includes San Luis Obispo and Santa Barbara Counties and northern Ventura County.  Another district includes most of Ventura County and dips into west Los Angeles County to pick up some communities.

Northern San Joaquin Valley

This portion of the San Joaquin Valley includes a district that encompasses Stockton, eastern Contra Costa County.  Stanislaus County is placed in a district with southern San Joaquin County.  Merced County is placed in a district with a part of Fresno to the east a rural Foothill district is drawn that extends from Sacramento to Fresno.

Southern San Joaquin Valley

Fresno and some of it suburbs and a portion of Tulare County are placed in a district.  Park of Bakersfield, Kings County are in a district in the west valley and Kern County based seat runs along rural eastern Tulare County.

San Fernando and Santa Clarita Valleys

The Santa Clarita Valley is drawn into a district with the Antelope Valley to the north and Simi Valley to the west.  The San Fernando Valley includes a heavily Latino central San Fernando Valley district and a western San Fernando Valley district.  Part of the Santa Monica Mountains are drawn into a district that includes most of Ventura County to the west.

Los Angeles

Los Angeles includes a Downtown/north LA district, a West Hollywood, Beverly Hills, West LA district, another West LA, Culver City district and a district that runs from Inglewood to Southgate.

Los Angeles South Bay

The South Bay includes a district that runs along the coast from Santa Monica to Palos Verdes.  Another district that includes Gardena, Compton and Carson and a Long Beach based district.

San Gabriel Valley

Inland Empire (Urban)

Inland Empire (Rural)

Orange County

San Diego


Comments are closed.